How that car thingee works . . .

Whenever I am stopped at a red light, sitthing behind some jacked-up car or truck, I can’t help but staring at the large round piece across the rear axle (I now know it’s called a differential gear cover).  I knew that the engine at the front of the vehicle turns the drive shaft down the center ofthe chassis, but I could never figure out how it made the axle, which is perpendicular to it, turn.

Well I stumbled across an excellent tutorial that must predate WWII.  All that I can remember from my high school Auto Shop class is how to clean a spark plug.  Suddenly I feel like I understand something about how my car works.

Remarkable.

Explore posts in the same categories: Cool, Education, Uncategorized, Video

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

